Tashkent Agreement Signed By

On January 10, 1966, the Tashkent Declaration between India and Pakistan was signed after the unsuccessful war of 1965. This article contains details about the historical statement in the context of the IAS audit. Tashkent Agreement (January 10, 1966), an agreement signed by Indian Prime Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri (died the next day) and President Ayub Khan of Pakistan, which ended the 17-day war between Pakistan and India from August to September 1965. A ceasefire was ensured by the United Nations Security Council on 22 September 1965. An agreement signed in the Soviet city of Tashkent by Indian Prime Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri and Pakistani President Ayub Khan to end the Second Indo-Pakistani War for Kashmir. The two countries agreed not only to withdraw their troops from the territory of the other and recover their prisoners of war, but also to begin normalizing diplomatic relations.